Why Wellness?

Our family started a massive lifestyle change in 2011. I, the mother, had been forced to give up my job, as my body was falling apart after 30+ years of battling an aggressive auto-immune disorder. At the time I was distraught, but convinced I could fight my way back to the surface, and back into the workforce, with time and dedication. I decided to become the expert on my body and my multiple chronic degenerative conditions, and my family decided to support me.

My research into immune responses and anti-inflammatory treatment led me to believe that at least some of my problems could be alleviated with better nutrition. I read about food and nourishment. I learned a lot about how our food seems to make people sick these days, and how the food we eat today is less nutritious than it was when my parents were young. And I started to think about how my grandparents probably wouldn’t recognise, let alone approve of, much of what we call food these days.

To put my theory to the test, we did a 30-day detox challenge where we abstained from eating any animal products at all. (I will post my detox diary in here later.) I had expected it to be tough, but to my great surprise I quickly noticed a significant difference in how I felt. And that’s how we all fell in love with the Wellness concept. Since that first detox, we have done at least one per year. But we have also stopped eating certain foods/products, and shifted into a more plant based diet 24/7.

As Independent Oriflame Consultants, we have many years experience of their beauty products and accessories. The wellness range, however, is new to us even though it was launched in 2013. But now we have decided to jump right in and start the 12-week wellness challenge for a healthier life. My aim is to eat a 75-80% plant based diet, and I hope this challenge will help me achieve that goal. We will be blogging about the challenge here, and tell you about the problems we come across. We will introduce you to the different types of products we are going to try and explain what we do and why.

We are five adults and a child in our household, and we will all do the challenge together. We will also have a group of friends and customers joining us, so I’m really looking forward to getting started. If you’d like to get on board and take this journey with us, you are more than welcome! Whatever your goal is, whatever your reason for seeking wellness, I will be glad and grateful for your company.

Leave a Reply

